top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCG Shoopmann

Guess Who Finally Figured Out How to Ride the Tricycle >:-)

Updated: Aug 12, 2019

That’s the biggest news, really. I was running late to a meeting and I had to bring a bag of fish to the boat launch so the other interns could do turtle trapping. So I just hopped on the tricycle and road it to the boat launch and then up to the annex. It was a thrilling moment for me in my life.


I have also started working with the bat data! Sort of! I’ve been working with Mason Fidino on prepping the data to reach a workable format. I’m learning a lot about R and how to use it. The bat data downloaded as a bunch of .WAV files, which I can’t open on my work laptop and R can’t read them. So we (ok, it was mostly Mason) wrote a code to take the names of the files and split them up into the date/time and species and turn them into a .CSV, which R can read. I had no idea you could do that with R!


In addition, we ran the calls from all of the devices on all of the days through a program called Sonobat, which identifies calls and provides a bunch of data as to why it identifies a call as a species. It then spits out a text document with all of the information. We have an older version and it looks archaic. But it’s functional, which is really the most important part.

After we ran the calls from all three devices through Sonobat, I took the text documents and made them into CSV files. Mason has prepped some code for me to run our seven CSV files through to get the only information we need (date, time, species, device), and Saturday morning, I plan to run as much as I possibly can.


I don’t mind working weird half weeks, but I do wish I had more hours to work on this project. I present at the zoo on the 22nd about it, and I’m honestly not sure if I have enough time to finish it! Jazmin has reassured me that I’ll have enough time, and that past interns haven’t been this far into their projects at this point in previous years, and that makes me feel better, but ya pal still has anxiety!

I’m on the email list for the LGBTQIA+ committee for the Zoo, and this past Thursday, a few of us went to the Wrightwood 659 art exhibit called “About Face: Stonewall, Revolt, and New Queer Art”. I got to meet older LGBTQIA+ folks who work at the zoo, and I felt welcomed and part of the team even though it was my first time meeting most of the people I went with. The museum itself was incredible and it was really refreshing to be in a space where queer folks were there to be queer and learn. I have a tendency to walk through museums at an aggressively fast pace, which means I am not the best at walking with groups. However, John Andrews, a population biologist, also seemed to walk through the space pretty quickly. I was thrilled about this and sort of stuck by him. We chatted and afterwards, he suggested we get lunch sometime before I leave! He gave a presentation called “Animals Have Pride Too” back in June that I went to, so he’s someone I’ve been wanting to get in contact with, and we finally did! I sent him an email, so lunch plans are in the works.


This week I also had a personal assessment with Jazmin about what I’ve done this summer. We both think it’s going well and that I’ve grown a whole lot since I started. She called me “a natural leader” and that was nice to hear because I’ve never thought of myself that way. I also asked about a year long internship position that will open up next spring, and Jazmin said she thought I’d be a good fit, especially because I’m already working with the direct supervisor and I know the bat project. So I’m still not sure if I’ll apply, but post-graduation is on my mind.


Finally, it wouldn’t be an urban wildlife post without a heron update. The herons are starting to fly south for the winter. We have less than fifty babies left at the zoo and I’m a little relieved. I am sad, however, because I only have two weeks left here at the zoo. I’m hanging out with some other interns on Saturday, and I’m glad to be bonding with them, but I’m bummed out it’s so close to summer’s end.


Ok, the real last piece, the reason you really read my blog: the song of the week. This week, we’re jamming out to “Don’t Stop Me Now” by Queen, because I recently learned that it is the (second) most uplifting song not everything has to be serious all the time!


Thanks for reading, and as always, here’s a link to the playlist.



1 - A BCNH juvenile in our banding tent. I was the only one there and legally cannot band birds

2, 3 - I've started going to Plover watch on Wednesdays with Eden, which means I get to see some gorgeous sunsets and baby plovers. Pictured here is a baby and Monty.

4 - My favorite cow at the farm came up to say hi. :-)



Here's a time-lapse video from a morning ride on the back of our tricycles.

12 views0 comments
bottom of page